Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Bass Movements

The new digital EP from New York's hardest working dub-dance indie label Bastard Jazz Records is available now. "Hear No Evil Volume 2" features new tracks from Brooklyn's Dhundee, Midnight Lab Band member Oneman, rust-belt-fabulous producer Jugoe and ForwardEver's own Double Identity on the new dub-breaks tune "Jaharise."

Head Bastard DJ DRM sez:
"Brooklyn's finest boutique record label, Bastard Jazz, returns with “Hear No Evil Volume 2” - a follow-up to their long sold-out first volume, issued on 12” vinyl in 2007. Sticking to the same format, Vol. 2 showcases five genre-defying beat-oriented tracks from some of our favorite up-and-coming producers and extended musical family."

Check the preview mix by Jugoe below!

   Hear No Evil V. 2 Sampler - Mixed By Jugoe by bastardjazz

Speaking of Jugoe: He's got a killer edit of Jennifer Lara's "I'm In Love", a rare Studio One Disco joint produced by Coxsone Dodd in the early '80s. Totally refreaked, beefed up, bassed up, and ready for dancefloor shenanigans. You can grab it HERE.

Our favorite new Ninja, Mr. Poirier has a killer mix of bassy things to download celebrating Ninja Tune's 20the anniversary. The Dubs for Ninjas XLR8R mixtape/podcast is " heavy on the bass and dutty vibes" highlighting the dub/reggae/dancehall side of Ninja Tune and Big Dada. Check track #10 in the mix-- it's ForwardEver's own Dub I.D. with the UK steppers style dubremix of Poirier's "Enemies"! Voila!

Download the mix here.
01 Roots Manuva "Organ Skit" (Big Dada)
02 Roots Manuva vs. Wrongtom "Proper Tings Juggled (Instrumental)" (Big Dada)
03 Roots Manuva "Dub For The Worms" (Big Dada)
04 Roots Manuva "Styles Dub" (Big Dada)
05 Poirier "Cool Baby feat. Busy Signal (Poirier Remix)" (Ninja Tune)
06 Sixtoo "Jackals and Vipers in Envy of Man - Part 2" (Ninja Tune)/
Cham "Rude Boy Pledge (Acapella)" (Atlantic)
07 Roots Manuva "Witness Dub" (Big Dada)
08 Poirier "Let Them Hate feat. YT (Mungo's Hifi Remix)" (Ninja Tune)
09 Roots Manuva vs. Wrongtom "Rebel Art (Instrumental)" (Big Dada)
10 Poirier "Enemies feat. Face-T (Dub I.D. Remix)" (Ninja Tune)
11 Roots Manuva "Double Drat" (Big Dada)
12 Toddla T "Pum Pum feat. Double Kay" (Ninja Tune)
13 The Bug "Angry feat. Tippa Irie" (Ninja Tune)
14 TTC "Catalogue (Instrumental)" (Big Dada)
15 Poirier "Trust None Of Dem feat. Burro Banton" (Ninja Tune)
16 Erup "Click Mi Finger (Poirier Remix - Untrust Riddim)" (Ninja Tune)
17 Poirier "No More Blood feat. Face-T (Megasoid Remix)" (Ninja Tune)
18 Diplo "Diplo Rhythm feat. Sandra Melody, Vybz Kartel, Pantera Os Danadinhos" (Big Dada)
19 Poirier "Blazin feat. Face-T (Modeselektor Remix)" (Ninja Tune)
20 Toddla T "Sky Surfing feat. Wayne Marshall (Benga Remix)" (Ninja Tune)
21 Toddla T "Want U Now feat. Ms Dynamite" (Ninja Tune)
22 Poirier "Wha-La-La-Leng feat. Face-T (Uproot Andy Remix)" (Ninja Tune)
23 Coldcut "Man In A Garage (King Jammy Dub)" (Ninja Tune)

More Ninja goodness here: Toddla T with champion ragga MC Miss Dynamite! A free track (via Fader Magazine). Grab it up!

Its UK funky bashment at its best.

Get all the info on Ninja Tune's XX US Tour right here. Standard.

And just in time for the ghosts and duppy's it's Subatomic Soundsystem new track featuring Elephant Man! On “Vampires & Informers” Elephant Man delivers a ferocious portrait of Jamaica’s "vampire" politicians, "bloodsucking" informers, and the "military society" of the ghetto youths. New riddim is producered by New York's Subatomic Sound System with remixes from Dubblestandart, Stereotyp, Ming (of Ming+FS), & Kush Arora!

   Elephant Man - Vampires & Informers (Emch's Subatomic Soundboy Burial Mini-Mix) FREE DOWNLOAD by SubatomicSound

 Another UK badman Wiley, maker of his signature "Eskibeats," was  in Jamaica recently and jumped on Prodigal's new riddim called Showa Eski.

Other artists on the riddim include Lady Chann, Ward 21, Natalie Storm, Einstein and Rage.

But Prodigal was cool enough to let the public have a taste. Here's the Wiley cut for your enjoyment -- download "Its Wiley"