Thursday, May 05, 2011

Jazzy Things For Spring

Always forward-thinking LA electronic label Plug Research have a new EP from Boom Clap Bachelors titled "Mellem Dine Læber".

BCB features Robin Hannibal of Quadron, Ronnie Vindahl, Thomas Bisballe, and David Cytryn; with additional vocal contributions from Coco O of Quadron and Liv Lykke and will groove anyone into SA-RA, Bonobo, Josee or Mark de Clive-Lowe's productions. It's mellow future soul with an edge – think daydream, not dead asleep.

They have a creepy-cool video for "Løb Stop Stå" or grab Boom Clap Bachelors' free MP3 download for this song. And of course, buy the full EP and support Plug Research and this project!
Also on the future soul tip, London's Eglo Records, home to Floating Points, have a new video for singer Fatima's "Innervisons" Watch it here. The track is a beat-less mind excursion, produced by FP, and included on Fatima's forthcoming "Follow You" EP.
Props to Mark deClive-Lowe on the release of the new "Leaving This Planet" EP. It's four beautifully composed future soul / broken jazzy beat numbers. Listen to the whole thing or buy it at Mashibeats. Oh! And fine other treats, rare cuts and freebies at MdCL's new blog.

Leaving This Planet EP Tracklisting:
1. Koko + Lee Roe
2. Dreams featuring Bembe Segue
3. What it Is
4. Leaving this Planet featuring Sharlene Hector
5. Eight

And definitely do not sleep on London's afro-future project Owiny Sigoma Band. Who are they? 

A London-based music collective that traveled to Kenya in '09 to collaborate with local musicians in Nairobi. A jam session with drummer Charles Owoko and nyatiti player Joseph Nyamungu developed into a unique UK beats-meets-African-rhythms-and-vocals combo with an emphasis on authenticity. 

Listen to Owiny Sigoma Band "Wires (Theo Parrish Remix)"  The album is out now on Gilles Peterson's Brownswood label. 

Also, be on the lookout for the latest Browswood comp, Brownswood Electr*c 2, which can be streamed here!
It's an all bass affair featuring Jack Dixon, Jus Wan, DJG, Monky, Ta-ku, Synkro & Indigo and DJ Dials!
Speaking of previews: Grab this free download of "Priata," a rhythmic new track from Ocote Soul Sounds – Grupo Fantasma's Adrian Quesada and Antibalas' Martín Perna's killer project. Mixing funk, Latin, Ethio grooves and more, "Pirata" is a global funk burner for summer!  The new album Tarrus drops June 7 on ESL. 

Plus our friends at Fort Knox Recordings have a great Empresarios remix selection on the way.  Sabor Tropical Remixed EP 1. feature remixes from Quincy Jointz, All Good Funk Alliance, Thomas Blondet and of course Fort Knox Five! It's out via Beatport on May 17 and May 31 via all digital retailers and on vinyl. Superb Sabor!

Our friends at Press Junkie and Fort Knox are offer this freebie to ForwardEver readers! Grab it! Space Selecta (Fort Knox Five Remint)