Wednesday, February 08, 2017

Roots from All Nations

Roots reggae music continues to thrive and evolve from all different corners of the planet.

From Jamaica, Chronixx (pictured left) embarks on a major tour, supported by his comrades in the reggae revival movement,  Jah 9, Jesse Royal, Kelissa, Mr. Williamz and Exco Levi. The Chronology Tour touches down across the entire United States from March through April.

From France comes Conquering Sound (via Irie Ites distribution) latest riddim set -- a tribute to the late Yabby You, and this one does the "Jesus Dread" justice with a stellar troupe of artists and a modern take on the "Deliver Me From My Enemies" track that Yabby originally recorded.

Hear the My Enemies Riddim - Megamix below.
Tracklist :
1 - SPECTACULAR – Jah Rise 0.00
2 - LION D – Deh Yah 1.03
3 - DJANTA – Steppin’in 1.50
4 - LMK – Some A Dem 2.46
5 - LUTAN FYAH – Modern Day Traitors 3.36
6 - SIR JEAN – Together We Stronger 4.30

British band Gentleman's Dub Club have a packed touring schedule ahead in 2017 following their breakthrough album The Big Smoke. Now signed to US label Easy Star, GDC will release Dubtopia on April 7. The Leeds band is made up of many well-rounded musicians specializing in every step of the composition process ensuring every detail of the band’s vision is seen through from the rehearsal room down to the mixing board. Gentleman’s Dub Club is a nine-member group including Jonathan Scratchley (vocals), Tommy Evans (drums), Luke Allwood (Keys), Nick Tyson (guitar), Toby Davies (bass, synth), Niall Lavelle (percussion), Matt Roberts (trumpet), Kieren Gallagher (sax), and Harry Devenish (sound). Listen below and grab the free download from SoundCloud.

Jamaica and Slovakia link up via the Jah Ova Evil collective's new track and forthcoming album, "Forever Judah," which features up-and-coming female singjay Hempress Sativa.

Jamaica's Jah Ova Evil was originally the artist name of it's founding member  J.O.E a.k.a. Alty George Nunes, and has now evolved into a collective united around strong and committed human values; their conscious music delivers messages of love, equality and solidarity. They aspire to a world where poverty no longer exists and where everyone lives in harmony with their environment.

Jah Ova Evil is comprised of the Nunes family, including twins The Gideon (Aijah Nunes) and Selah (Jahnoi Nunes).

This collective is well known very involved in the cultural life of Kingston and organizes weekly events during which young and old artists gather and share in reggae music collaborations.

Jah Ova Evil collective's music has contributed to the birth of the reggae revival trend as well as the merging with jazz, soul, hip-hop and electronic music.

This album is produced by Batelier Records, a young reggae music label based in Slovakia who were drawn to work with Jah Ova Evil collective because of their common values: "We believe in the potential of these artists who work together in order to influence our world!", "Our main effort is to support artists and producers who are struggling to bring those vibes to the people" said Renaud Devaliere, Founder of Batelier Records.